

The "Spacecraft Modular Thermal Platform" project wins HISPASAT's 25th anniversary Innovation Prize

- The project was presented by Alejandro Torres and Donatas Mishkinis of IberEspacio Tecnología Aeroespacial.
- The AFeNSat ("Antenna Feeding Network for New Generation Satellite Communications) project was runner up.

Madrid, 1 June 2015. On May 19, HISPASAT convened the jury of aerospace industry experts to deliberate on the Prize for the Best Telecommunications Satellite Innovation Project, created for HISPASAT's 25th anniversary, in order to choose a winner and runner up.

In the first round, the projects were examined based on their usefulness and applicability. The five projects that passed the first round were then evaluated in the second round from a technical point of view.

After a thorough study and discussion on the different projects submitted, all of which had a high level of technical quality, the winner of the HISPASAT Prize, by the unanimous decision of the jury, was the "Spacecraft Modular Thermal Platform", submitted by Alejandro Torres and Donatas Mishkinis of IberEspacio Tecnología Aeroespacial. This project researched the development of new thermal control architecture for satellites including two-phase heat transfer devices. It is based on improvements to one of these devices, previously tested on a HISPASAT satellite, which allowed for the development of this new architecture. The demo device of this technology has been tested on the satellite Hispasat 1E. The solution submitted by IberEspacio will make it possible to develop more powerful, compact and efficient satellites.

This project is another example of the success of the industrial returns program carried out by HISPASAT, which involves collaboration with Spanish industry as a means for incorporating innovative technology into their satellites, allowing this technology to be demonstrated and made well known and facilitating its entry into the market and the global value chain.



The runner up was the **AFeNSat** (Antenna Feeding Network for New Generation Satellite Communications) project, submitted by Carlos Alberto Leal Sevillano, Jesús María Rebollar Machain, José Ramón Montejo Garai and Jorge Alfonso Ruiz Cruz. This project focused on the development of a new Ka-band antenna feed that allows for a more compact and lighter design. This development will contribute to solutions using wider broadband and simpler mechanisms.

When making their final decision, the members of the jury considered the following innovation criteria: technical quality, future development possibilities and efficiency of the proposed improvements for satellites. With this initiative HISPASAT seeks to foster research and development of innovative solutions that have a clear and positive impact on the company's business in a market that is growing more and more competitive.

This Innovation Prize is a symbol of HISPASAT's commitment to driving innovation and new developments that have a positive impact on the market. Moreover, the fact that the winning project was a project submitted by a Spanish company once again shows just how competitive Spanish industry is, and the importance of HISPASAT's support, through agreements made with manufacturers to invest in Spanish components, as well as their innovative support in Spanish industry.

The award ceremony is to take place on June 17 at HISPASAT headquarters, wrapping up the commemoration of the company's 25th anniversary.

The winner will receive 12,000 euros, while the runner up will be given 5,000 euros and a diploma (both amounts gross).

The jury is made up of the following members:

- 1. Ms. Elena Pisonero, President of HISPASAT.
- 2. Mr. Antonio Abad, HISPASAT Technical and Operations Director.
- 3. Lieutenant General Ignacio Azqueta Ortiz, Director General of INTA (National Institute of Aerospace Technology).
- 4. Mr. José María Casas, Former Assistant Director of the Department of Telecommunications at the European Space Agency (ESA).
- 5. Mr. Antonio Elías, Chief Technical Officer at Orbital ATK.
- 6. Mr. Eugenio Fontán Oñate, Dean of the Official College of Telecommunications Engineers.
- 7. Mr. Antonio Fuentes, Former Director General of AIRBUS CASA.
- 8. Mr. Miguel Ángel Gómez Tierno, Director of the Higher Technical School of Aerospace Engineers Technical University of Madrid.



- 9. Mr. Xavier Lobao, Head of Future Telecommunications Projects at the European Space Agency (ESA).
- 10. Mr. Jorge Lomba, Head of ESA projects at the Centre for Industrial Technological Development (CDTI).
- 11. Ms. Estefanía Matesanz, Dean of the Spanish Official College of Aerospace Engineers.
- 12. Mr. Fernando Ortega, Former Technical Director of Thales Alenia Space España.
- 13. Mr. Félix Pérez Martínez, Director of the Higher Technical School of Telecommunications Engineering Technical University of Madrid.
- 14. Mr. Pedro Pintó Tardón, Former Director of HISPASAT.

Secretary (no vote): Ms. Marta Serrano, from the HISPASAT legal department.

About HISPASAT Group

HISPASAT Group is comprised of companies that have a presence in Spain as well as in Latin America, where its Brazilian affiliate HISPAMAR is based. The Group is a world leader in the distribution and broadcasting of Spanish and Portuguese content, and its satellite fleet is used by important direct-to-home television (DTH) and high-definition television (HDTV) digital platforms. HISPASAT also provides satellite broadband services and other added value solutions to governments, corporations and telecommunication operators in America, Europe and North Africa. HISPASAT is one of the world's largest companies in its sector in terms of revenue, and the main communications bridge between Europe and the Americas.

www.hispasat.com